Week 1 Weight:  231 pounds

Week 1 Goal:  My plan for this week is to refrain from processed sugar.


Journal:

4:30: I am pretty sure today was even crazier than yesterday.  We had Awards Day at school.  I am in charge of the 6-8 grade Awards Day.  I had teachers still bringing me awards at 8:30 this morning (they were due yesterday at 8:30).

My students were in and out of my classroom all morning because the band students where performing for Awards Day.  Did I get anything taught?  Nope!

Then, I had a secret.  One of my teammates was going to to be asked a very special question at the end of our Awards Day.  I was suppose to take pictures.  I was so nervous for her, for him, and for my camera not working.  It was awesome and she said yes!

The students were crazy after that.  Could you blame them?  What was worse was that we had a reward party (called a block party) at the end of the day.  The students were so excited about that.  I need structure and a schedule.  We definitely didn’t get that today.  And it caused me so serious stress.

But I did not deviate from my eating plan!   I have eaten great so far today!

11:30: Tonight was one of my first major challenges.  We went to visit my aunt and uncle tonight.  They live about an hour away and because of our busy schedule, we only see them about once a month.  My husband told them that we were stopping by to get Little Caesar’s Pizza to eat for supper.  I looked at my husband and was “no, I can’t do that.”  Do you know he had the nerve to tell me that he was getting a mushroom pizza for my daughter and that I would be okay eating that.  He made me so mad!

So I went into the kitchen a fixed a salad to go.

On the way to my aunt and uncle’s, my husband makes a comment about me doing this healthy thing.  As if he hadn’t notice me eating something different than the rest of the family for supper this week.  I do believe he is going to be my worst enemy in this. (But, who can blame him.  I have been on and off “dieting” since I was 18.  He probably thinks I’m not going to last this time either.)

We are home.  I ate my salad with grilled chicken.  I smelled everyone else’s pizza and bread-sticks.  And right now, I am okay with this.  I am proud of myself.


Breakfast:  

  • 4 hard-boiled eggs
  • black coffee

Snack: 

  • almonds

Lunch:

  • salad (spring lettuce, carrots, tomatoes, mushrooms, olives, 1/2 avocado, lite raspberry vinaigrette)
  • cottage cheese

Snack: 

  • apple

Supper:

  • salad (spring lettuce, carrots, tomatoes, olives, lite raspberry vinaigrette)
  • grilled chicken

Exercise:

  • none
